Webb Simpson Final Commitment To 2014 Waste Management Phoenix Open

2012 US Open Champion and four-time PGA TOUR winner Webb Simpson was the last player to officially commitment to play in the 2014 Waste Management Phoenix Open – to be played next week at TPC Scottsdale. A field of 132 players will vie for the $6.2 million purse, the $1,116,000 first-place check and 500 FedExCup points.

The field now includes 17 players who have combined to win 27 Major Championships and 21 of the top 50 players on the Official World Golf Ranking, including: Phil Mickelson (4), Ian Poulter (12), Brandt Snedeker (14), Webb Simpson (19), Keegan Bradley (22), Hideki Matsuyama (24), Lee Westwood (26), Bill Haas (28), Bubba Watson (30), Ryan Moore (33), Nick Watney (34), Hunter Mahan (35), Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (36), Kevin Streelman (38), Graham DeLaet (39), Billy Horschel (40), Patrick Reed (41), Martin Kaymer (44), Harris English (46), Jonas Blixt (48) and Chris Kirk (49).

2009 WM Phoenix Open champion Kenny Perry withdrew from the tournament leaving the 2014 field with eight past WM Phoenix Open champions – Mickelson (2013, 2005, 1996), Kyle Stanley (2012), Mark Wilson (2011), Hunter Mahan (2010), J.B. Holmes (2008, 2006), Baddeley (2007), Vijay Singh (2003, 1995) and Mark Calcavecchia (2001, 1992, 1989).

PGA TOUR members had until 5 p.m. today (Friday, January 24) to commit to play in the 2014 Waste Management Phoenix Open. Non-committed players participating in the Farmers Insurance Open have a half-hour from the end of 2nd round play to commit. In addition, any previously uncommitted player placing in the top-10 at the Farmers Insurance Open also can commit to play Sunday evening.

The five sponsor exemptions handed out by the tournament host Thunderbirds went to Kevin Tway, Ricky Barnes, Joe Ogilvie, Kiradech Aphibarnrat and John Peterson. Local golf instructor Paul Trittler earned the Southwest Section of the PGA spot by winning the Section Title.

Three open qualifying spots are still up for grabs and will be determined on Monday, January 27th at McCormick Ranch Golf Club in Scottsdale.

If any player currently in the field withdraws from the tournament prior to the start of the event, pros Michael Putnam, Ryo Ishikawa and Russell Knox are the first three alternates.

The 2014 Waste Management Phoenix Open, known as “The Greatest and Greenest Show on Grass,” will be held at the TPC Scottsdale from January 27 to February 2, 2014. The Waste Management Phoenix Open is the best-attended golf tournament in the world and has gained legendary status for being the most unique stop on the PGA TOUR. The 2014 edition will mark the 79th playing of the event (one of the five oldest events on the PGA TOUR) and the fifth as the Waste Management Phoenix Open. For more information on the 2014 Waste Management Phoenix Open, visit www.wmphoenixopen.com.



Alpha Field List

2014 Waste Management Phoenix Open

As of January 24, 2014

Robert Allenby
Stephen Ames
Kiradech Aphibarnrat
Woody Austin
Aaron Baddeley
Sang-Moon Bae
Ricky Barnes
Charlie Beljan
Kris Blanks
Jonas Blixt
Jason Bohn
Steven Bowditch
Keegan Bradley
Jonathan Byrd
Angel Cabrera
Mark Calcavecchia
Roberto Castro
Greg Chalmers
Kevin Chappell
K.J. Choi
Nicolas Colsaerts
Erik Compton
Ben Crane
Ben Curtis
Brian Davis
Brendon de Jonge
Graham DeLaet
James Driscoll
Ken Duke
Harris English
Derek Ernst
Matt Every
Gonzalo Fdez-Castano
Martin Flores
Rickie Fowler
Fred Funk
Tommy Gainey
Robert Garrigus
Brian Gay
Lucas Glover
Retief Goosen
Paul Goydos
Luke Guthrie
Bill Haas
James Hahn
Brian Harman
Padraig Harrington
Dudley Hart
David Hearn
Russell Henley
J.J. Henry
Tim Herron
Justin Hicks
Charley Hoffman
Morgan Hoffmann
J.B. Holmes
Billy Horschel
Charles Howell III
John Huh
Matt Jones
Martin Kaymer
Chris Kirk
Jason Kokrak
Martin Laird
Scott Langley
D.H. Lee
Richard H.Lee
Marc Leishman
Justin Leonard
Spencer Levin
David Lingmerth
David Lynn
Jeff Maggert
Hunter Mahan
John Mallinger
Hideki Matsuyama
William McGirt
George McNeill
John Merrick
Phil Mickelson
Bryce Molder
Ryan Moore
Kevin Na
Joe Ogilvie
Geoff Ogilvy
Jeff Overton
Ryan Palmer
Pat Perez
John Peterson
Carl Pettersson
Scott Piercy
D.A. Points
Ted Potter, Jr.
Ian Poulter
Patrick Reed
John Rollins
Andres Romero
Rory Sabbatini
Webb Simpson
Vijay Singh
Brandt Snedeker
Joey Snyder III
Kevin Stadler
Scott Stallings
Kyle Stanley
Brendan Steele
Kevin Streelman
Chris Stroud
Brian Stuard
Daniel Summerhays
Josh Teater
Michael Thompson
Nicholas Thompson
David Toms
Cameron Tringale
Paul Trittler
Kevin Tway
Bo Van Pelt
Jhonattan Vegas
Scott Verplank
Camilo Villegas
Nick Watney
Bubba Watson
Mike Weir
Lee Westwood
Charlie Wi
Mark Wilson
Gary Woodland
Y.E. Yang

Start typing and press Enter to search