Matsuyama to Defend Title at 2017 Waste Management Phoenix Open

PHOENIX, Ariz. – Defending tournament champion Hideki Matsuyama is among the first to commit to the 2017 Waste Management Phoenix Open, set to tee it up January 30-February 5 at TPC Scottsdale. A field of 132 players will vie for the $6.7 million purse, the $1,206,000 first-place check and 500 FedExCup points. Additionally, the tournament received commitments from 12-time PGA TOUR winner Zach Johnson, 2015 Rookie of the Year Daniel Berger and 2010 WM Phoenix Open champion Hunter Mahan.

“Hideki is a great champion and we are excited that he will be here this year to defend his title,” said Tournament Chairman Andy Markham. “With ‘The People’s Open’ just 40 days away, we expect this already impressive list of commitments to include many more big names as we get closer to tournament week.”

The 24-year-old Matsuyama currently ranks 6th on the Official World Golf Ranking thanks to his stellar 2016 campaign which saw him earn eight Top-10 finishes after his second career victory in Scottsdale last February. Matsuyama is off to a hot start in the 2016-2017 wrap-around season collecting wins at the World Golf Championships-HSBC Champions and the Hero World Challenge as well as a second-place finish at the CIMB Classic.

Other top-ranked golfers to commit include Kevin Chappell (32), Berger (33), Zach Johnson (38), Shane Lowry (42), Kevin Na (44), and Gary Woodland (49).

PGA TOUR members have until 5 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 27, to commit to play in the Waste Management Phoenix Open. Eligible players are assigned one of 34 PGA TOUR priority ranking categories based on their past performance on TOUR. The field will continue to change as players with higher priority rankings commit to play in the Open.

The 2017 Waste Management Phoenix Open, also known as “The Greatest Show on Grass,” and “The People’s Open”, will be held Jan. 30 – Feb 5, 2017, at TPC Scottsdale. The Waste Management Phoenix Open is the best-attended golf tournament in the world and has gained legendary status for being the most unique stop on the PGA TOUR. Last year’s tournament broke three attendance records, including a PGA TOUR record 618,365 fans for the week. The 2017 edition will mark the 82nd playing of the event (one of the five oldest events on the PGA TOUR) and the eighth as the Waste Management Phoenix Open.


Alpha Field List

2017 Waste Management Phoenix Open

As of December 20, 2017

Steven Alker
Byeong Hun An
Mark Anderson
Ryan Armour
Aaron Baddeley
Blayne Barber
Ricky Barnes
Charlie Beljan
Daniel Berger
Zac Blair
Ryan Blaum
Jason Bohn
Dominic Bozzelli
Ryan Brehm
Wesley Bryan
Brian Campbell
Chad Campbell
Miguel Angel Carballo
Roberto Castro
Alex Cejka
Greg Chalmers
Kevin Chappell
Chad Collins
Ben Crane
Joel Dahmen
Graham DeLaet
Brett Drewitt
Ken Duke
Julian Etulain
Matt Every
Derek Fathauer
Gonzalo Fdez-Castano
Brad Fritsch

Robert Garrigus
Brian Gay
Lucas Glover
Fabian Gomez
Retief Goosen
Brandon Hagy
James Hahn
Padraig Harrington
David Hearn
J.J. Henry
Jim Herman
Charley Hoffman
Morgan Hoffmann
Max Homa
Billy Horschel
Charles Howell III
Mark Hubbard
Mackenzie Hughes
Zach Johnson
Matt Jones
Sung Kang
Michael Kim
Si Woo Kim
Whee Kim
Patton Kizzire
Colt Knost
Jason Kokrak
Kelly Kraft
Martin Laird
Danny Lee
Spencer Levin
Nicholas Lindheim
Luke List

Andrew Loupe
Shane Lowry
Hunter Mahan
Steve Marino
Ben Martin
Hideki Matsuyama
William McGirt
Troy Merritt
Bryce Molder
Trey Mullinax
Sebastian Munoz
Grayson Murray
Kevin Na
Seung-Yul Noh
Jeff Overton
Greg Owen
Ryan Palmer
Rod Pampling
Cheng Tsung Pan
Cameron Percy
Pat Perez
John Peterson
D.A. Points
J.T. Poston
Seamus Power
Jon Rahm
Jonathan Randolph
Chez Reavie
Kyle Reifers
Tag Ridings
Patrick Rodgers
Xander Schauffele
Ollie Schniederjans

John Senden
Cameron Smith
J.J. Spaun
Scott Stallings
Brendan Steele
Shawn Stefani
Brett Stegmaier
Robert Streb
Kevin Streelman
Chris Stroud
Zack Sucher
Daniel Summerhays
Hudson Swafford
Nick Taylor
Vaughn Taylor
Kevin Tway
Tyrone Van Aswegen
Harold Varner III
Jhonattan Vegas
Johnson Wagner
Richy Werenski
Steve Wheatcroft
Gary Woodland
Bobby Wyatt

Start typing and press Enter to search