WM Phoenix Open Gets Social

RSS FeedYoutubeInstagram

Padraig Harrington & Ryo Ishikawa Among Latest Commitments to Star-Studded Waste Management Phoenix Open Field

Three-time Major Championship winner Padraig Harrington and Japanese sensation Ryo Ishikawa are among the latest commitments to the 2013 Waste Management Phoenix Open. Jason Day, Bud Cauley and Bo Van Pelt also recently committed to play in next week’s Waste Management Phoenix Open at the TPC Scottsdale.

To date, 20 of the top 50 on the Official World Golf Ranking and 98 of the top-125 money leaders from the 2012 season have committed. There are 21 Major Championships represented in the field, including 8 Masters wins, 7 PGA championships, three US Open championships and three British Open championships. A field of 132 players will vie for the $6.2 million purse, the $1,116,000 first-place check and FedEx Cup points.

Padraig Harrington will be making his first appearance at the WM Phoenix Open. Winner of the 2007 and 2008 British Opens and the 2008 PGA Championship, Harrington has a total of five PGA TOUR victories. Currently ranked 50th on the Official World Golf Ranking, the 41-year-old Irishmen had three top ten finishes on TOUR in 2012, including the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am (T7), The Masters (T4) and the US Open (T8).

The 21-year-old Ishikawa has become a full member of the PGA TOUR in 2013 and will be making his first appearance at the WM Phoenix Open. He has 12 international victories to his credit and has two top tens on the PGA TOUR – 2nd at the 2012 Puerto Rico Open and 9th at the 2012 Memorial Tournament.

Brandt Snedeker (8), Bubba Watson (9), Jason Dufner (11), Keegan Bradley (12), Nick Watney (21), Phil Mickelson (22), Van Pelt (24), Hunter Mahan (27) and Kaymer (28) are the highest ranked players on the Official World Golf Ranking currently in the field. Other top-ranked players who have committed include Carl Pettersson (32), Rickie Fowler (34), Nicolas Colsaerts (36), Bill Haas (37), Robert Garrigus (38), Day (39), Scott Piercy (40), Ryan Moore (45), David Toms (46), David Lynn (49) and Harrington (50).

PGA TOUR members have until 5 p.m. on Friday, January 25, to commit to play in the Waste Management Phoenix Open. Eligible players are assigned one of 34 PGA TOUR priority ranking categories based on their past performance on TOUR. The field will continue to change as players with higher priority rankings commit to play in the Open.
Eight past tournament champions are currently in the field, including Kyle Stanley (2012), Mark Wilson (2011), Hunter Mahan (2010), J.B. Holmes (2006 & 2008), Aaron Baddeley (2007), Phil Mickelson (1996 & 2005) and Vijay Singh (1995 & 2003) and Jesper Parnevik (1998).

With the limited PGA TOUR season in 2013, the five exemptions, previously awarded by the tournament host Thunderbirds, will now come out of the Qualifying Tournament/Web.com Tour category.

The Waste Management Phoenix Open will be played January 28 – February 3, 2013, at the TPC Scottsdale. The tournament host Thunderbirds have raised more than $80 million for charities, with more than $50 million generated since 2004. The 2013 edition will mark the 78th playing of the event, making it one of the five oldest events on the PGA TOUR (not including the major championships). For more information on the Waste Management Phoenix Open, visit wmphoenixopen.com.


Alpha Field List

2013 Waste Management Phoenix Open

As of January 15, 2013

Blake Adams
Stephen Ames
Aaron Baddeley
Sang-Moon Bae
Ricky Barnes
Charlie Beljan
Kris Blanks
Jonas Blixt
Jason Bohn
Keegan Bradley
Angel Cabrera
Chad Campbell
Roberto Castro
Bud Cauley
Greg Chalmers
Kevin Chappell
K.J. Choi
Tim Clark
Will Claxton
Nicolas Colsaerts
Ben Crane
Brian Davis
Jason Day
Brendon de Jonge
Graham DeLaet
James Driscoll
Jason Dufner
Ken Duke
Harris English
Matt Every
Martin Flores
Rickie Fowler
Tommy Gainey
Robert Garrigus
Brian Gay
Tom Gillis
Lucas Glover
Bill Haas
Brian Harman
Padraig Harrington
David Hearn
Russell Henley
J.J. Henry
Tim Herron
Charley Hoffman
J.B. Holmes
Charles Howell III
John Huh
Trevor Immelman
Ryo Ishikawa
Fredrik Jacobson
Brandt Jobe
Martin Kaymer
Troy Kelly
Chris Kirk
Jeff Klauk
Colt Knost
Jason Kokrak
Hank Kuehne
Martin Laird
D.H. Lee
Marc Leishman
Justin Leonard
Spencer Levin
David Lynn
Jeff Maggert
Hunter Mahan
John Mallinger
Steve Marino
David Mathis
Troy Matteson
William McGirt
George McNeill
John Merrick
Phil Mickelson
Bryce Molder
Ryan Moore
Kevin Na
Sean O’Hair
Joe Ogilvie
Geoff Ogilvy
Jeff Overton
Greg Owen
Ryan Palmer
Jesper Parnevik
Pat Perez
Carl Pettersson
Scott Piercy
D.A. Points
Ted Potter, Jr.
Dicky Pride
John Rollins
Andres Romero
Rory Sabbatini
Wes Short, Jr.
Vijay Singh
Brandt Snedeker
Joey Snyder III
Kevin Stadler
Scott Stallings
Kyle Stanley
Brendan Steele
Kevin Streelman
Chris Stroud
Daniel Summerhays
Kevin Sutherland
Josh Teater
Michael Thompson
David Toms
Cameron Tringale
Bo Van Pelt
Jhonattan Vegas
Scott Verplank
Johnson Wagner
Jimmy Walker
Nick Watney
Bubba Watson
Boo Weekley
Mike Weir
Charlie Wi
Mark Wilson
Casey Wittenberg
Gary Woodland